Balsamic Salad Dressing

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I love homemade salad dressings and Balsamic is my favorite.   Even though I’m pretty frugal by nature, I tend to splurge on balsamic vinegar. For years now I’ve gotten the “Antica Italia Balsamic Vinegar” from Modena, Italy at an Italian Market called Tony Caputo’s Market and Deli in Salt Lake City.  It’s slightly thicker and sweeter than the cheap stuff.  And, it’s only $12.99 for this huge liter bottle.  Before I moved to Utah, I used to buy it and take it home to California.  Now when I run out, I have a good excuse to go to Tony Caputo’s.  This is also the vinegar they use in their deli on some of their salads and sandwiches.  Their meatball sandwiches are especially good, so stop by for lunch when you’re in the area.  Here’s their web site:  http://www.caputosdeli.com/

003

I’m also a big believer in making homemade salad dressings because they honestly just taste better.  It’s not that difficult to do, and you can avoid all those strange and unidentifiable ingredients too.  When it comes to diet dressings, I think they taste awful.  So I just make oil and vinegar-based recipes, reducing the amount of oil and thus the fat.  I’m working on several other dressing recipes too, which I’ll share once they’re perfected!  This photo is of the ingredients used in this dressing.  The balsamic vinegar in the photo came from our recent trip to Italy.  But, I have to say that it wasn’t nearly as good as the vinegar I usually use (see above)!

011

Balsamic Dressing

  • 1/2 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 2-3 T olive oil
  • 1 tsp dijon mustard
  • 1 clove fresh garlic
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper

Combine all ingredients in a blender or a Magic Bullet and pulse until mixture is emulsified.  What does that mean you ask?  I have no idea but it sounds good.  Here, I just looked it up…it’s a mixture of “two or more liquids that are normally un-blendable”.  This process mixes them quite nicely and makes the dressing thicker too.  Adjust salt and pepper to taste.  Serve over your favorite salad.  Great along side an Italian dinner!

One thought on “Balsamic Salad Dressing

Leave a Reply

