Crock-pot B-B-Q Chicken Sandwiches and Potato Salad

BBQ Sandwich (2)

I’m always looking for simple recipes to feed my family…things I can just literally “throw” into the crock-pot and walk away from.  After all, standing around the hot kitchen in the summer is not my idea of fun!  Here is a recipe that fits the bill…Crock-pot B-B-Q Chicken Sandwiches. This recipe is really not a recipe, but another one of my “concoctions” that you just kind of throw together.  I’ll do my best to explain what I did so that you can make it for your hungry brood!

I like to serve watermelon and homemade potato salad on the side.  My recipe for potato salad has a story…one year I was the leader over the girls at church, ages 12-18.  We had our annual “Girl’s Camp” at a place in California called “Camp Buckhorn”.  It was a fun camp and the food was really good, considering we were supposedly roughing it (in cabins).  One evening, they served us the best potato salad in the world.  I asked for the recipe and the gal in the kitchen told me the ingredients, but not the actual quantities.  In fact, I don’t think they ever measured anything so she really couldn’t tell me!  Over the years, I’ve done my best at trying to replicate their recipe and I think I’m pretty close (recipe follows).  I hope you enjoy!

Crock-pot B-B-Q Chicken Sandwiches

Throw (or toss or place) 3-4 frozen boneless, skinless chicken breasts into your crock-pot.  Add about 1/2 can chicken broth. Sprinkle with garlic granules, dried onions, salt and pepper.  Cook on low for about 3 hours.  Add some BBQ sauce and cook for another 2-3 hours or until chicken pulls apart easily with a fork.  I turn mine on high for the last 1-2 hours to speed things up.  How much sauce should you add, you ask?  I have no idea…it really depends on your personal preference.  I generally start with 1/2 cup and add more if it seems too dry!  Add extra sauce if you want more flavor.  I put extra sauce on the side at dinner time as well.

For the BBQ Sauce…OK, so you have options here.  Personally, I’m usually in too much of a hurry to make homemade sauce.  Most of the time I just use some Trader Joes’ BBQ sauce.  I also like to buy the “Bulls Eye” brand at the grocery store because it doesn’t have any “high fructose corn syrup” in it like most other brands do.  If you are really in the mood, you can make your own sauce (recipe follows). Either way, this is the easiest recipe and one that your family is sure to enjoy.

Serve on your favorite rolls either warmed in the oven or toasted in the toaster.  I get mine at Harmon’s grocery story here in Utah because they don’t add hydrogenated vegetable oil or other bad stuff.  Or use hamburger buns (check those ingredients to find the best ones out there).  Or make your rolls homemade (recipe does not follow-I am “yeast challenged” but working on it or at least thinking about working on it).  Serve with Potato Salad (recipe follows) and watermelon for a great summer dinner.

Liz’s Homemade B-B-Q Sauce

  • 2 cans tomato paste
  • 1 1/2 cans chicken broth
  • 1 tsp garlic granules
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2 T honey
  • 1 tablespoon onion flakes
  • 1 teaspoon garlic granules

Mix all ingredients in a saucepan and simmer on medium heat until it reduces by one-third, stirring often.  To adjust sweetness, add more sugar or honey. Set aside until ready to start the chicken.  You will have plenty of sauce left over to use for another time.

Camp Buckhorn Potato Salad

  • 4 russet potatoes
  • 1/2 cup Best Foods mayonnaise (according to the cook it has to be Best Foods)
  • 2 tsp yellow mustard
  • 1 T sugar
  • 1 T cider vinegar
  • 1 T sweet pickle relish (or chopped sweet pickles)
  • 1/2 cup celery
  • 1/2 cup white onion
  • 2-3 hard-boiled eggs
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper

Put whole, unpeeled potatoes in a pan of water and bring to a boil.  According to Camp Buckhorn, it is best not to peel them first.  Continue to cook until fork tender (but not too long or they turn to mush).  Place potatoes in cold water.  Mix mayonnaise, mustard, sugar and vinegar; set aside.  Once cooled, peel potatoes and chop into pieces; place in large bowl.  Add relish, celery and onion.  Slice 1/2 of an egg for the top of the potato salad.  Chop the rest and add to the bowl.  Fold in mayonnaise mixture.  Add seasonings.  Adjust to taste.  Place sliced eggs on top, sprinkle with paprika, chill and serve!

Note:  For a savory variation, substitute dill pickle relish (or chopped dill pickles) for the sweet and omit the sugar.

 

Leave a Reply

